The Problem With Using Old Technology

I’m sure it’s happened to you, you go to use a piece of older technology you have, only to find out that you’re missing something.  This can be a headache.

My problem?  I was going to use my old Sony Handycam, but in order to get the video off the tape, I needed a Firewire cable, which I didn’t have.  Not just any Firewire cable though, a 4 pin to 6 pin cable.

This is annoying simply because I spent half a day running around town looking for one and no one had one.  We went to Wal-Mart, K-Mart, Staples, Radio Shack…..ok Radio Shack had one, but it was like $35 for one 6ft Cable?  Seriously?  That explains why they still have theirs in the store.

I came home and did a little research.  Low and behold, I can get what I need for my Camera for a mere $5.  That’s it.  Radio Shack can keep their $35 cable.  I’ll put that extra $30 in my pocket.

Where did I find this cable at?  Amazon of course, of all the places.  Now, all I have to do is just order the dang thing and be done with it.  Then I’ll have better quality video for my Youtube channel and I’ll be able to mess around with video editing a bit better.

Problem Solved.  You can get a 4 pin to 6 pin cable for your Handycam by clicking the image below.

4 Pin to 6 Pin Firewire Cable

2 comments on “The Problem With Using Old Technology

    • Honestly, I didn’t. Maybe I’ll check that. But that still doesn’t change the fact that I might need a Firewire. Though if I get a newer one, I might not need one. Better to have one though. I’ll check ebay and see what I can find.

Leave a Reply

